Safeguarding at HCJS

Haddenham Community Junior School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

We have a number of policies and procedures in place that contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Child Protection Policy which can be viewed here on this page.

We listen to our pupils and take seriously what they tell us. All school staff are trained in Child Protection, and children are made aware of the adults they can talk to if they have any concerns. Staff are trained to look out for signs of physical/emotional harm or neglect and are required to report these to the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL).

 Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies, when there are concerns about a child's welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with parents/carers first, unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child's welfare.

Our Designated Safeguarding Lead is Mr. Andy Leach (Head teacher).
Our Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads are Mr. Ben Smart (Deputy Head teacher), Mr Tom Gore, Miss Rachael Hill, Miss Claire McMahon(Assistant Headteachers) and Mrs Caroline Armstead (SENDCO) 
The Governor with responsibility for safeguarding in our school is Mrs. Alysoun Glasspool.
All are contactable via the main school office
(01844 291829 / )
Alternatively; If you are concerned about the safety of a child, you can email the DSL in confidence on:
or you can contact the Buckinghamshire Safeguarding Children Board: