Our Governing Board

Who we are & What we do.

The Governing Board is composed of staff, parents and representatives of the local authority and our community.

Our remit as governors is to work as a team with the Head Teacher to provide strategic management for the school. The governing body sets the school's aims and objectives with a view to promoting high standards of education and achievement.

The whole Governing Board meets formally  once every term and additionally when required. Each of the following sub-committees meets at least once a term.

The Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee prepares the annual financial plan and regularly reviews the condition of the school buildings. 

The Learning and Teaching Committee advises on all matters relating to the curriculum, working with staff to review and revise teaching policies. It tracks the school performance: monitoring achievements against targets that have been set. 

The Pay & Personnel Committee considers the staffing of the school and agrees any pay related changes.


If you would like to get in contact with any of our Governors please email:


Mrs Karen Sweetman

Chair of the Governing Board

Karen is our Local Authority Governor, she is currently also Safeguarding Governor and is a member of the Finance, Premises and Pay & Personnel Committees.

Other Responsibilities: Maths, Equalities, Headteacher Performance Management.

Dr David Palmer

Vice Chair of Governors & Chair of the Finance, Premises, Health & Safety Committee

David is a Co-opted governor and is the Chair of the Finance Premises, Health & Safety Committee. He is also a member of the Pay & Personnel Committee.

Mrs Alysoun Glasspool

Safeguarding Governor

Alysoun is a co-opted governor and is the Safeguarding Governor and is also a member of the Finance, Premises and Pay & Personnel committees.

Other responsibilities: PSHE, Wellbeing & Equalities.

Mrs Moira Kendall

Chair of the Pay & Personnel Committee

Moira is a Co-opted governor and in addition to her role as Chair of the Pay & Personnel committee is also a member of the Learning & Teaching, Finance and Premises committees.

Other responsibilities: Governor development, Link Governor for Humanities & MFL.
Safer recruitment trained.

Mr Joel Cliffe

Chair of the Learning & Teaching Committee

Joel is a Co-opted Governor. He sits on the Learning & Teaching Committee and is the Literacy Governor.

Other responsibilities: Headteacher Performance Management
Safer Recruitment trained.

Mrs Rachel Collins

Staff Governor

Rachel is currently teaching Year 6 and is in her sixth year of teaching at HCJS.

Mr Stuart Savage


Stuart is our Health & Safety Governor. He sits on both the Finance and Premises, Health & Safety Committees.

Mrs Izzy McLocklin


Izzy is a Co-opted Governor and is our SEND, Pupil Premium & Sports Premium Governor. She is a member of the Learning & Teaching Committee.

Other responsibilities: PSHE & RSE Link Governor

Mrs Emma Wood

Parent Governor

Emma is a Parent Governor and also Chair of the school PTA.

Other responsibilities: Art & Music Link Governor.

Mr David Moore

Parent Governor

David is an experienced parent governor who also sits on the board of Haddenham Community Infant School.

Other responsibilities: Development Governor, On-line Safety Governor and Link Governor for Science & I.T.

Mr Will Perkins


Will is a Co-opted Governor bringing both financial & business expertise. He is also our Data Protection Governor.